helping aquarists become more successful since 1931
  • Award Levels

  • Beginning Aquatic Horticulturist  (30 points or 3 plants)
  • 100-point Horticulturist
  • 250-point Horticulturist
  • 500-point Horticulturist 
  • Advanced Horticulturist -- 1000 points
  • Master Horticulturist -- 1500 points
  • Grand Master Aquatic Horticulturist -- 2500 points

The Rookie of the Year prize is given to the HAP participant that earns the most points in their first twelve consecutive months. The last month of eligibility determines in which calendar year you are considered a rookie.

Horticulturist of the Year is awarded to the participant that earns the most point between January and December of the calendar year.